Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

Chicken Asparagus with Sesame and Soy Sauce July 29, 2009

Filed under: cooking — budgetlexicon @ 7:24 am

IMG_1225Chicken Asparagus with Sesame and Soy Sauce

My friend Jenna at work always has these amazing lunches that she cooks up in her crock pot.  I have kinda been slacking on packing my lunch lately, but this week I decided to get back on the wagon. Inspired by Jenna, I decided to pull out my crock pot and make one of the dishes that my mom used to make when I was growing up. Here’s the recipe:

Cook a whole chicken in a crock pot for 6 hours on low.  Cook a bundle of asparagus and cut into 1 inch pieces.  Chop 3 green onions.  Combine chicken, asparagus, and green onion in a bowl. Add 1T  sesame oil, 2 T peanut oil and 1/4 C soy sauce to chicken mixture and stir.  My mom serves this with rice, but  I made couscous.

 

3 Responses to “Chicken Asparagus with Sesame and Soy Sauce”

  1. Charlene Says:

    So glad to have you back Budget Lexicon!

  2. mmm, it looks tasty. thank you for sharing this! I will try it next time, but with rice


Leave a Reply

