Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

Gift-Giving During A Recession December 5, 2008

banana_bread11Christmas is always a really expensive time of year and this year the economy is not helping. While I have decided that I am only giving family gifts this year, I would still like to do something nice for my friends and co-workers.  Here are some ways that I am saving money on holiday gift-giving:

For my family: I am shopping online for everyone’s gift.  I’ll shop this weekend (to avoid any shipping delays) and have all the gifts shipped to my office (so FedEx doesn’t leave them on my doorstep).  I am definiting planning to comparison shop and take advantage of free shipping deals. 

For my Los Angeles friends/co-workers: I am going to make banana bread, which is yummy and makes my apartment smell good.  It also feels more personal than purchasing gifts in a store.

For my Orange County friends: I am going to plan a date for us all to get together for dinner.  Paying for our portions of the meal will be our “gift” to eachother. We don’t get to see eachother that often.

Photo Cred. – PiesandBass.wordpress.com

 

5 Responses to “Gift-Giving During A Recession”

  1. Marie Says:

    Baking bread and spending time with each your friends are the greatest gifts! We sometimes need to get away from the “show gifts” and get back to the ones that are truly from the heart.

    It doesn’t matter what you give – just that you do it….simply give.

    Have a great Christmas!

  2. budgetlexicon Says:

    Thanks Marie. Tough economic times seem to remind everyone about what’s important in life 🙂

  3. Those are all good ways to save up during the holiday season! Banana bread – ooh that sounds so good right now!!!!

    Btw, my blog’s address has moved to http://www.fashionaddictgirl.com so if you have the time could you please change the link on your blog roll? Thanks!

  4. letslivefast Says:

    mmmm banana bread sounds so good!

    i love online shopping! haha it’s so convenient 🙂

    -MJ

  5. Lisa Says:

    Maybe it’s the reason I can’t seem to lose the 5 pounds that has been plauging me since college, but I always love to get homebaked goods as a present. Lots of the meaninglesss trinkets people give get lost after a short while, but those five pounds have hung on for years!


Leave a Reply

