Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

Sweet Dreams July 24, 2008

Filed under: this & that — budgetlexicon @ 1:01 am
Tags: ,

I haven’t been sleeping well for the last couple weeks. I attribute my lack of sleep to heightened levels of anxiety and the strange nocturnal behavior of both my cat and neighbor. I did a little research on good sleep habits. I learned that the key to getting a great night’s rest is to turn your bed into a place of relaxation. Here are my fav budget products that ensure I have sweet dreams.

  1. Jersey sheets – I love jersey sheets. They are really inexpensive, but feel like luxury sheets. They made you feel like you are sleeping on a high quality, well worn vintage t-shirt.
  2. Ear plugs – A definite must-have.  I have no idea what my neighbor actually does for living – although I have many theories. The noises that come from the other side of the wall are not normal apartment noises like music or talking.  The most common noises I hear are a “wooshing” sound like opening a garbage bag and a “clink clink” noise like dropping utensils into a metal sink.  The weird part of it is that it goes on constantly until 3:00am. What the heck is he doing over there!?!?!?!
  3. FanThis is the most amazing fan and totally worth the price.  I like my room to be really cold while I am sleeping. The fan noise also drowns out the clink, clink, whoosh, whoosh from next door.
  4. Foot LotionDon’t judge! It’s just part of my routine.  I know this foot cream isn’t exactly budget friendly, but my mom bought it to bribe her way out of an awkward social situation.    
  5. A Good Book & TeaEssential for the final count down before bed.  I try and stay away from reading anything scary before bed.  
 

5 Responses to “Sweet Dreams”

  1. Kara Says:

    I also sleep with ear plugs. I couldn’t do it any other way!

  2. Char Says:

    No scary reading before bed, just In Cold Blood 🙂

  3. Brittney Says:

    Hey there. Just wanted you to know, that foot lotion could be budget friendly if you know where to look. I’m a sales associate for The Body Shop. Not just because I work there, but their peppermint foot lotion is great. I use it religiously. And it’s only 8 for a small bottle and 14 for a big one. I think there is an online sale going on for the small bottle too. I think its only 5 now. Just wanted to let you know 🙂

    Love your blog!
    Brittney

  4. i almost find the timing of this post to be eerily creepy. i’ve recently had similar sleeping issues (i had always been a ridiculously good sleeper), and i find these tips extremely helpful. the foot cream probably helps keep your feet cool, which i’ve read (in some recent research) that it’s a critical component to maintaining a normal body temperature.

  5. Budget Babe Says:

    i love jersey sheets, too. i was gifted some really pricey egyptian cotton sheets but i prefer my cheap target jersey sheets, they just feel so much softer!


Leave a Reply

