Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

Saving Money Tip: Rethink Where You Live June 4, 2008

Filed under: home decor,saving money tips — budgetlexicon @ 9:35 am
Tags: , , ,

One of the biggest challenges that I faced when I decided to start saving money was my rent. I lived in a sorority for two years in college, so when I graduated I decided to live by myself. I soon found that paying rent and bills by myself started to add up and there was not a lot left over for saving.

I had two choices – to get a roommate or move to less expensive apartment. I found an adorable studio apartment for a steal on Westside Rentals. My studio is located on one of the most expensive streets in LA; my rent includes a private garage with storage, all my utilities, and the largest kitchen that I have ever had in an apartment.

I have included a few pics to prove that if you really look, you can find a great apartment on a budget. These pics are kinda old because I have had repair men going through my apartment and did not have time to take new ones.

 

3 Responses to “Saving Money Tip: Rethink Where You Live”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Can you give an approximation of what you consider a “steal”?

  2. budgetlexicon Says:

    I pay $1005 🙂

  3. Jamillah Says:

    I wished that your pictures were bigger. I love looking at how people design their living spaces. I live in a studio apt in NW Indiana. I pay $415 and with renewal it will be $430. I have a huge living area, two closets ( 1 is a deep one with a door, and a walk-in), bathroom, kitchen and my mini office. My goal next year is to get a 1 bedroom so I can entertain and have more room. But I love that it is just for me !


Leave a Reply

