Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

She’s Crafty – Vintage Wallpaper Covered Canvas May 29, 2008

Filed under: crafts,home decor — budgetlexicon @ 1:01 am
Tags: , , , , ,

Target Wallpaper – $49.00/roll

Michael’s Art Canvas (50% off coupon) – $27.00

I am finally putting the finishing touches on the design of my apartment. There is a blank wall next to my bed that has driving me crazy for a couple months. All of the art I found to cover this space was priced around $300, which is more than I am willing to spend. Inspired by the current vintage wallpaper trend, I decided to create my own art.

First, I purchased vintage inspired wallpaper at Target.com ($49.00/roll) and a canvis from Michael’s craft store ($27.00 with 50% off coupon). I cut the wallpaper into pieces that would cover the canvas. I took the first piece of wall paper, wrapped the canvis like a present and secured it with tape. Then I placed the 2nd piece of wallpaper on the canvis to line up perfectly with the pattern of the first piece. I wrapped the 2nd piece around the canvis like a present and secured it with tape. It took a couple tries, but I eventually got everything lined up. Once I was satisfied with my results, I reinforced the tape with hot glue.

I am really excited because I think it turned out really cute and it only cost about $77.00. Now I just need to find someone to help me hang it.

 

7 Responses to “She’s Crafty – Vintage Wallpaper Covered Canvas”

  1. August Says:

    I didn’t even know Target had wallpaper! What a creative project you have done!

  2. BB Says:

    wow! i love it. i had no idea target sold wallpaper. they never cease to amaze me.

  3. Emily Says:

    this is so great! please post pictures once you find someone to hang it!

  4. geri Says:

    ohh i actually did the same thing except i just framed pretty paper (which was soo cheap – $6 a sheet or so) instead of putting it on canvas. i switch them out when i get bored of my room and it totally updates everything!

  5. Lexie Says:

    That looks beautiful!

  6. Sara Says:

    omg…! I love that wallpaper, that’s exactly what I wanted for my room. I tried to find it on the site you mentioned but I can. Guess it is no longer sold… T-T


Leave a Reply

