Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

Money Saving Tip – Investing Your Savings May 28, 2008

Filed under: saving money tips — budgetlexicon @ 1:01 am
Tags: , , , ,

I am embarrassed to admit that I finally just started investing my savings last week. I’ve had my personal savings sitting in a savings account for way too long. Personal Finance For Dummies makes some suggestions on reliable firms and Fidelity is at the top of their list – so I decided to check them out.

Maybe I am behind the times, but I opted to make an appointment because I wanted to see/talk to a live human being. I went into my appointment thinking that the CFP would think of my small investment as a waste of her time, but I was totally wrong. My CFP was really helpful, personable and answered all my questions (even the ones about investing in the current economy). She did not make me feel like my investment was too small.

She helped me develop an investment plan that meet my financial goals and risk level. I was also able to open a high-yield savings for my emergency fund. It might sound silly, but one of my favorite things about Fidelity is that I am able to access all my investments in one online statement (even my Fidelity 401K).

 

Leave a Reply

