Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

Healthy Budget Breakfast Parfait May 15, 2008

Filed under: cooking — budgetlexicon @ 10:11 am
Tags: , , , ,

Parfait – Total spend $1.50 per parfait

Training for my marathon has made me really hungry every morning. My co-worker turned me on to the following version of a parfait that is low fat and high in protein and iron. I like it because it is very portable – you can throw the various ingredients in your purse and make this at work (sans the glass and pretty layering)

To vary it up a little, you can use different flavors of yogurt and assorted fruit. Stick with bananas if you are trying to be more budget conscious – they are about $.20/each at T-Joes which is a lot cheaper than the $4.00 you pay for blueberries.

Recipe:

1 individual serving fat free yogurt

1 packet of dry plain oatmeal (healthier than granola)

Assorted fruit (bananas, strawberries, or blueberries)


 

2 Responses to “Healthy Budget Breakfast Parfait”

  1. Sara Says:

    Lexie!!! The banana, plain oatmeal and yogurt mixture has been a staple in my diet for years. I am so glad that it is a part of your life too, haha! This is my favorite post so far. THE concoction was my only saving grace in college when my appetite took over my life during rowing season at UCSB!! Good luck training for the marathon. I will be in San Diego cheering you on at different checkpoints…race day is approaching!

  2. budgetlexicon Says:

    Hey, Lexie!!! This is a variation of an old Weight Watchers rec ipe–thanks for the reminder and for the suggestions on how to make it portable. As a teacher, this will be a great late breakfast/snack for recess.


Leave a Reply

