Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

Steve & Barry’s Update May 6, 2008

Filed under: fashion — budgetlexicon @ 1:01 am
Tags: , ,


I want to preface this post by saying I choose to go to Steve & Barry’s on Monday night after a press trade show – so I was tired and a little cranky. Also, the big New York Times article came out last Thursday, so I should have expected it to be a little picked over.

That being said, I have to say I was disappointed in the quality of clothes. While the Bitten cotton shirts were only $8.98, they were really scratchy and looked like they would shrink if they even got near hot water. Some of the dresses had weird stitching and threads hanging off them.

Also, the women’s selection in the Beverly Connection store is pretty limited. Half of it is geared towards teenagers, who have a serious love for pink mid-drift polo shirts – leaving only a quarter of the store for women in their twenties. There were a couple dresses I liked and wanted to try on, but they did not have them in my size. The accessories were pretty cute, but there was nothing that I was dying to have.

Overall, I would go back to Steve & Barry’s if I was in the neighborhood, but I would not make it a destination.

 

3 Responses to “Steve & Barry’s Update”

  1. Pequenita Says:

    Thank you for posting your feedback! I would have only gone had the clothes been “to die for”, but crowded stores with cheap clothes tend to make me sweat. I won’t waste my time.

  2. Liz Says:

    Agreed! I’ve only been once, but I wasn’t a fan of that place. Most of the clothes look like they’re about one wear away from falling apart. Sad, because I love SJP!

  3. Tom Says:

    Steve & Barry’s is and has always been about creating clothing that was cheap. Very cheap. This is not a store that offers great value. It offers garbage clothing at low prices. Spend wisely. Don’t spend there. Once you wash it it’s a rag.
    I won’t even go into how they treat employees………To sad.


Leave a Reply

