Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

“Dinner Wine” – Zinfandel April 18, 2008

Filed under: cooking — budgetlexicon @ 6:14 pm
Tags: ,

Ravenswood Vintners Blend Zinfindel 2005 – $7.99

This is my staple dinner wine. I always have it in the house – for unexpected company or hostess gifts. I love this wine so much that I actually break my rule of no red wine on dates for this Zin – blue teeth and lips are totally worth it.

This Ravenswood is reasonably priced at $7.99 and is available everywhere, I even saw it at Savon. It is also available in many restaurants (marked up, of course). If you see it on the wine list, I definitely suggest you order it.

It pairs well with both winter and summer dishes. I especially like it with strong cheeses, pastas with cream sauce and chicken dishes. It is fruity with undertones of plums and strawberries.

 

2 Responses to ““Dinner Wine” – Zinfandel”

  1. vinicultured Says:

    I’ve never actually tried the Ravenswood zin–I’ve never tried any of the Ravenswood wines, either. I’m always in the market for delicious, budget “vin ordinaire” so I may pick up a bottle next time I’m at the store.

    You might also consider anything from Chateau Ste. Michelle, which is a winery based in Washington state. Their basic cabernet and merlot retail for around $11-$12 and are great: straightforward, reliable, and good.

    This seems like a great blog! I am a big fan of the “living a fabulous life on a budget” mantra!

    Joon S.
    http://vinicultured.com

  2. budgetlexicon Says:

    Thanks for the tip. I will definitely check out the Chateau Ste. Michelle. I have never tried a wine from Washington, I hear they are amazing.


Leave a Reply

