Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

Nectar of the Gods April 11, 2008

Filed under: cooking,saving money tips — budgetlexicon @ 1:01 am
Tags:

I am a total and utter coffee snob. Having been born into a family of coffee addicts, I not only enjoy the taste of coffee but I associate it with feelings of nostalgia and comfort.

When I first graduated from college, I realized that I was spending about $20 a week on coffee ($80 a month!) I decided to make a few changes in my coffee routine that really helped.

I started making coffee at home and saved coffee houses for my weekend outings and the occasional afternoon pick-me-up. I currently use Starbucks French Roast as my “at home coffee” and have it ground in the store. While it is more expensive than most grocery store brands (half pound $9.99 and includes a free cup of coffee) it lasts me about 2-3 weeks. Also, because it is REALLY good, I am not tempted to cheat and run out for coffee.

For my weekend coffee outings, I have converted from Starbucks to Peet’s Coffee. Peet’s is better, stronger, and cheaper than Starbucks (Peet’s Large $1.90, Starbucks Venti $2.80). While the main reason for my conversion was the quality, the $0.90 difference in savings does start to add up for us coffee snobs.

 

3 Responses to “Nectar of the Gods”

  1. Margaret Says:

    Try Dunkin’ Donuts coffee. It’s really good and less expensive than Starbucks. You can find it at Target as well as your traditional grocery stores. If you want an unbiased opinion, ask your mom. I am not sure what she will say.

    Mrs. G

  2. vinicultured Says:

    I second the remark on Dunkin’ Donuts coffee: it’s surprisingly good and very reliable.

    Peet’s has a good Kenyan roast that is lighter bodied and very vibrant. I would recommend that highly if you have opportunity to pick up a half-pound or so in-store.

    Have you tried the new “Pike Place” blend from Starbucks? I think it’s their best offering.

    Joon S.
    http://vinicultured.com

  3. budgetlexicon Says:

    I will definitely pick up the Dunkin’ Donuts coffee next time I am out. I have tried the Pike Place and I think it is very good, but I prefer stronger coffee.


Leave a Reply

