Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

“Dinner Wine” Review – Sauvignon Blanc April 10, 2008

Filed under: cooking — budgetlexicon @ 1:01 am
Tags: ,

Nobilo Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2007 – $11.99



I love experimenting around with wine. I have some knowledge of wine but mostly I just like tasting various bottles and deciding what I like. For me, wine falls into three categories – “TV wine” (under $6.00), “dinner wine” ($6.00-15.00), and “special occasion wine” ($15.00 and up). I usually drink TV wine when I need to unwind after work, while watching the latest episode of SVU. I break into my stash of dinner wine when cooking for friends or attending an event where I need a hostess gift. I reserve special occasion wines for holidays and celebration dinners.

One of the many things I like about shopping at Trader Joe’s is that I can find some great TV and dinner wines for reasonable prices. Recently, I have been on a quest for a white dinner wine that I can pair with various summer dishes. I prefer new world white wines that are light and fruity.

Nobilo Marlborough 2007 Sauvignon Blanc is the prefect Sauvignon Blanc for the upcoming warm weather. This New Zealand native is light and fruity with elements of grapefruit, lemon and melon. It would pair well with fruit, pasta, chicken, and light cheeses. It is available at Trader Joe’s, Bev Mo, and Cost Plus World Market.

 

3 Responses to ““Dinner Wine” Review – Sauvignon Blanc”

  1. Lisa Says:

    Ooo…I want to try this! Too bad it’s only at a few places! BTW, I LOVE SVU

  2. Grandma Satcha Says:

    Broke down at Trader Joe’s yesterday and bought the yummy New Zealand wine…..Excellent!

  3. jjrzut Says:

    There are two other Sauvignon Blancs at Trader Joe’s that you must get are the 2006 Geyser Peak ($8) and the 2005 Kono ($8) which is also from New Zealand. I’ll grab this one next time I go to Trader Joe’s. Interested in comparing it to the Kono! I’ll let you know how it goes. If you get a chance to grab either of these let me know what you think.

    Cheers,

    Jason


Leave a Reply

