Budget Lexicon

Tips for living a fabulous life on a budget

Saving Money Tip: Avoid Chain Grocery Stores June 23, 2008

Filed under: saving money tips — budgetlexicon @ 9:24 am
Tags: , , ,

Before I begin this post, I would like to disclose that I have a started a personal boycott against my neighborhood Ralphs. They are always out of stock and staff is completely unhelpful (including the managers). They basically don’t care if you find what you are looking for and are unwilling to help you (even if you ask). I will end my rant right there, because I think you understand.

In accordance with this boycott and my budget, I have been trying to find alternatives to main stream grocery stores. Basically, I do all my shopping at Trader Joe’s. Not only do they have amazing products and wine, they have an amazing staff who is very helpful. Because most of the items they carry are their own proprietary brand, they are less expensive than the brand-name products carried in main stream grocery stores. But sadly, they do not carry everything and I have to look elsewhere for most toiletries and cooking items.

This weekend I took my “grocery store needs” to Walgreens and was pleasantly surprised at how much money I saved. I bought: contact solution, a contact lense case, toilet paper, dental floss, baking soda, and knee brace. Total 36.21. I think I saved at least $1-2 on each item. I was also happy to have a Ralphs-free weekend.

 

3 Responses to “Saving Money Tip: Avoid Chain Grocery Stores”

  1. Jamillah Says:

    I love Trader Joe’s. I have to go into Illinios to get my fix. They suppose to be building one in Scherreville, IN but building has stopped for now. I love all of the frozen food, the sauces, and of course the Sushi. We use to have a neighboorhood Ralph’s, It was terrible too. I wonder if it is the same place.

  2. I couldn’t agree more…Ralphs has continually let me down, and they consistently are out of at least one item each trip I make. TJs is fabulous for cheap and easy foods, but I prefer to find my produce from local farmer’s markets. That way, you’ll not only save money, but help support those who need it most!

  3. Kira Says:

    Do you have any Fresh and Easy markets in LA? We have a few in Orange County and they are awesome… I love them just a little less than Trader Joe’s. They’re really affordable and have unique stuff and most of it is their own brand like TJ’s. I do all my toiletry shopping at Target and I try to only get the Target brand (their contact solution is fine, and their shave gel is better than the regular brands IMO!).


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.